Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

AIA Insurance Reviews

Reviews for this insurance company have been provided by visitors to the Insurance Watch website. view all company reviews

Go to Rate your Insurer to provide a review on your insurance company and go into the draw for an iPad.

Overall rating: 4.0 Stars Very Good from 70 reviews

Value for money 3.8 Stars
Features and benefits 3.9 Stars
Ease of Application 4.0 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.8 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.8 Stars

Claims rating: Average+ Stars Average+ from 4 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 3.5 Stars N/A
Processing time 3.0 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 3.5 Stars N/A

Read reviews

05 May 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"Very easy process and very pleasant to seal with. Time frame was expected due to the nature of insurance requested. Would and have recommended to others.."
26 Apr 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 3 years.
"Impossible to get in contact with them, wait for over 45 minutes on the phone. Email them and they either take forever to respond or don't respond at all.."
06 Jan 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Aia vitality is great for regular gym users and has extras like cheap movie tickets.."
06 Jan 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Aia vitality is a good policy with extra benefits if you are a gym user.."
06 Oct 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"The application process was easy and the insurer responded quite quickly putting the cover requested in place.."
20 Nov 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"Donna's professional handling of the application process was easy and efficient. AIA was very competitive and offered the exact product I was looking for."
24 Aug 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"Insurance Watch has been wonderful in a assisting me with the right and affordable policys!!."
05 Aug 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 3 years.
"The claim process was hassle free. Donna at insurance watch was very helpful and patient. She also responded to all my emails promptly and professionally. I would recommend insurance watch to others.."
20 May 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"The customer service was very personalised and is of high quality. We received our 20% cash back cheque without having to follow it up.."
07 Apr 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 5 years.
"I applied over the phone and the results were mis-understood. I think they need to provide more instruction when talking about your medical history. My experience was that you really need a print out from your doctor for all treatments in the relevant period - it is impossible to remember and this can come back to bite you. It also wasn't clear that you had to pay tax from your monthly benefits - this was not revealed until a claim was made. I wouldn't recommend and I wouldn't advise not to use them either. Everyones circumstances are different so they need to do the research for themselves.."
23 Mar 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"The liked the ease of apply for the insurance through insurance watch.."
07 Mar 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Very satisfied with ease of application and timeliness of responses.."
09 Jan 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Very good value for money would recommend to others. Also Insurance Watch kept me in touch all the way.."
07 Jan 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"I liked that I could do the insurance online instead of having to see an advisor personally.."
07 Jan 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"Was happy with the application process being online rather than having to waste time making an appointment to see someone in person."
01 Jan 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Did not like the complexity of arranging the 20% rebate otherwise it was good."
12 Dec 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Great company to deal with. All problems were addressed and fixed as requested and in a very timely manner.."
13 Nov 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Fast process, clear communications, average pricing, I would recommend to others.."
01 Oct 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Very competitive pricing and good reward for being healthy with good lifestyle choices."
21 Aug 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Very good value for money that my banker would not believe me it's such a cheap premium for this income protection insurance. This is despite the ceiling benefit is only $5K which is below my monthly salary.."
28 Jul 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 5 years.
"A sudden hike in fees caused me to start searching elsewhere...before that all was ok.."
20 Jul 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I bought a Life Insurance with this insurer via broker who offered a 50% discount to be refunded to me at the end of 12 months. I was quite happy with product and service rendered as they sent a nurse to my place to take blood sample and everything went well in terms of processes. I must admit I haven't read the fine print on exclusions though I was assured by the broker that it is meant to be a full cover insurance. I would like to find out if I would be better off under Insurance watch. Need to look into it further later before next renewal in Dec 2014.."
17 Jul 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"I like that AIA provides family protection. Application was real easy and what I get is very clear.."
23 Jun 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
"I'm too lazy to change it over but basically I just leave it on as is. One of the main reason I keep it is because it can be invested somewhere and I get bonus once every 3 years.."
04 Jun 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"The whole process was done online. A little lengthy, less paper work would have been appreciated.."
29 Apr 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"I would prefer insurancewatch for all type of insurance. They communicate better than others. Thanks."
02 Apr 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Would definitely recommend to others. Easy to understand terms & conditions. Simple straight forward questions required for activation of the policy. Excellent informative communication. Fast acceptance approval. 20% rebate on first year of policy - (which I received via cheque within 28days) Easy monthly direct debit.."
24 Feb 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 2 years.
"My overall experience has been a positive one so far. I do like the professional customer service approach and clear processes however I feel the recent premuim increase is unjustified.."
22 Feb 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 6 years.
"Comprehesive, did not have a claim yet.."
14 Feb 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I purchased the policy from yourselves last year and i am just updating to see who is cheapest now.."
08 Dec 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 5 years.
"AIA commenced claim in January 2013 and stopped payments in May 2013. AIA contacted specialist without my knowledge and requested a diagnoses report. Report advised I have IBS and can return to work. Have received no Successful treatment and symptoms are still the same. Have obtained seconds opinions from psychiatrist and gastroenterologist, both reports state I do not have IBS and cannot return to work until treatment received. Now being medicated to help with diagnosed depression, and awaiting neurologist appointment to investigate further symptoms. AIA still refuse to reopen claim based on the 2 correct reports. Have received no payments for over 7 months, still haven't been treated and still can't return to work. Financial Ombudsman has been involved, and I will also be pursuing court action with my lawyer if the financial ombudsman cannot assist me with my situation. AIA are portraying as a liar, in particular to my Employer. Employer will most likely be terminating my position due to being ill from work for over 12months. Facing sever financial hardship due to this.."
22 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 2 years.
"I haven't had much to do with them since my initial contact and set up, simply a reminder when the annual renewal came up. I did ask to increase my life insurance, but this turned out to be far too difficult.."
20 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Love the value I get for my money, great price."
11 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Very happy so far with service and I would recommend them to others.."
24 Oct 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 4 years.
"Policy feature and cost are great, but be warned customer service is terrible. If your credit card expires (as they all do), if you havent told them the new number in advance they will start sending you nasty letters saying that your credit card has been dishonored. How a company that manages our life insurance cant work out that your card has expired I fail to understand. To update your credit card expiry date don't expect to do it with a phone call a two page form is requested to be completed and mailed back!."
23 Oct 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Easy to apply life insurance. Product Disclosure could have been written more in a way that can be understood easily.."
18 Sep 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Very comprehensive features and options at reasonable prices. I rated low for timelyness and communications because I think the industry in Australia is very poor in these areas generally and my insurer is just standard in this regard.."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Every time I would call the customer service number I will always be put on hold for >10 minutes. It would be nice to speak to someone as soon as the person on the other end picks up the phone and not waste my time listening to classical music. I would recommend them to others because they offer value for money, I just hope they would improve their customer service.."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Ease of online application and acceptance was the best feature - didn't involve someone having to phone you, etc.."
19 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Had AIA insurance through superfund First State Super, previously with HealthSuper. I am now applies directly as I like the products, and will get better cover and value for money.."
17 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 2 years.
"Average experience, costumer service quite poor."
17 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Value for money policy. Easy to read and complete application forms. Payments deducted monthly via Direct Debit automatically. Being able to compare and select options via Insurance Watch website and then apply online made for an easy process.."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 5 years.
"Havent had any claims so can't really comment on service."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
"Good cover for price."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
"Took some time to complete all necessary papers and loading was applied to my policy. No follow up as promised on additional medical review to reduce loading.."
14 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"I haven't had the policy for very long, but so far, so good.."
13 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 2 years.
"I am happy with the premium price."
25 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Income Protection for 4 years.
"After using insurance watch and then using a financial planner for other matters they were very impresses with the rates and levels insurance watch had obtained for me."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"This is the first time i have ever taken out life insurance and income protection and the process seemed quick and easy and my cover started very soon after the application process. As far as value for money i am not sure if it is good or bad as i did not have much time to shop around.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 4 years.
"Prices are climbing that's why I'm looking at getting a quote."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"I have just joined but they have been helpful so far."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I will recommend to my friends.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"Ease of getting in place."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 3 years.
"Insurance policy was as expected... went through an insurance broker possibly made it more expensive but have recently ended policy to reinsure with another provider - more suitable to my needs and $100 cheaper per month."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 2 years.
"Efficient processing, accessible and responsive to inquiries.."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, Income Protection for 2 years.
"I didnt have any problems with this insurer but I did not make a claim and I find that claiming is when you really get to know if a company is good or not. I would recommend them to others.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 3 years.
"My broker set me up with this insurer and therefore I have no experience re what I like and dislike. I compared a couple of insurers when I was setting up this insurance and there wasn't much difference between them. It came down to cost in the end."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Funeral Insurance / Plan for 1 year or less.
"Policy seemed good and forms were not too invasive or long. Good value for money. I was with MLC for many years, but cost just kept going up, so I looked around for a better value policy and found one. I have only recently changed to AIA, but would recommend them to others. I would not MLC as they are very expensive.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 6 years.
"Good quick service with no hidden agenda."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Been happy with the current insurer as they provide a cheaper option compare to other insurers.."
13 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"The application process was simple and their policy provides good cover for a competitive price. I would recommend them to others.."
11 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Extremely happy with my choice of insurer. Service and information provided was superb and I would not hesitate in recommending them to others.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"It was all very organised and processed quickly.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"Very organised and quick service."
05 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
"Very pleasant and stress free."
05 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 2 years.
"The application took some time to get processed. The value of the policy was very competitive. Yes i will recommend them to others."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"They were prepared to be flexible with the paperwork and provided a compromise that worked well for me."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 2 years.
"Our credit card details changed, and we found it hard to change the details with them. The first letter that came out only said we had dishonoured, but had no paperwork to update the details. We emailed insurance watch, but received no response. On the second dishonour letter, AIA included a new direct debit form, which we completed and sent back to them to fix.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Income Protection for 2 years.
"I have had no problems, but I have not yet made a claim.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had AIA Life Insurance for 5 years.
"They provide a good simple product with a premium better than most other equivelent products.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20% on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPad