Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

Asteron Insurance Reviews

Reviews and star ratings come from customers who have had a Asteron Life, TPD, Trauma or Income Protection insurance policy.

Check out Star Ratings and Reviews Summary to see how Asteron’s ratings compares to others

Go to Rate your Insurer to review your insurance company and go into a draw for an iPhone XR

Asteron

Overall rating: 3.5 Stars Average+ from 49 reviews

Value for money 3.2 Stars
Features and benefits 3.5 Stars
Ease of Application 3.4 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.5 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.2 Stars

Claims rating: Poor+ Stars Poor+ from 4 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 2.0 Stars N/A
Processing time 2.3 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 2.8 Stars N/A

Read reviews

10 Oct 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 3 years.
    "I lodged claim in June.. now is the middle of October, and there is no outcome yet .. they decided to ask additional questions, which I find out about by chancing them by my self.. no questions were sent whatsoever.. absolutely terrible attitude, long awaiting time, insurer is not willing to act promptly or indicate clearly what any additional actions from me is required .. also in the beginning I was looking for Suncorp Income protection insurance and somehow end up with Asteron Life, there wasn't indication or disclosure that my insurance provider will be Asteron Life , not primary Suncorp , until I lodged claim."
29 Aug 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 6 years.
    "Easy to deal with and good cover especially for Income Protection TPD and Life."
09 Jun 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Insurance is a personal choice and one that everyone should do their homework on. I found Asteron to be very expensive as I am a smoker. At over $200 a month I question having it.."
03 Apr 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 8 years.
    "Haven't really had much to do with them, as I haven't needed to make a claim. Just pay the bills they send me.."
02 Apr 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Although I have never had reason to claim from this insurer I have never had reason to complain. I pay by the month and my fees have never gone up, in fact they have gone down for the same benefit in the event of an accident or death. I believe it's a very small outlay in the event of a very large trauma.."
27 Jan 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 2 years.
    "I don't have any particular likes, or dislikes against Asteron. It's paid for out of my super, which made the sign up process a lot easier for me. Regardless, I would still recommend Asteron to anyone. They appear to be a good company.."
09 Jan 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Funeral Insurance / Plan for 1 year or less.
    "This is a terrible insurance company, just because some brief conversations with my GP in regards to work stress and some episodes of insomnia, which were not the reason for my consultations with my GP, they wanted to exclude mental illness cover from my policy. It is really unreasonable and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone."
04 Jan 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 3 years.
    "The holding time on the phone was very frustrating because I am usually very busy."
03 Jan 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I've had this policy for over 20 years, paid in thousands of dollars and it seems I would get the same benefits today if I simply took out a new policy with a new insurer. Could have saved myself thousands of dollars and got more benefits. You get nothing from being a loyal customer."
02 Jan 2019 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Very good, I always feel safe and proctected and know no matter what I'll be covered.."
30 Nov 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "As the Life Policy was taken out when I was young - as I grew older I looked at the policy and realized that it would expire before what I consider my life expectancy to pass so I have now cancelled out after paying for 20 plus years. Not great policy. - money for nothing for the insurer.."
28 May 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "The features i received were great the customer service lacked."
16 Mar 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Very good I would recommend to my friends and family.."
09 Mar 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 7 years.
    "I would recommend Asteron to anyone. This particular insurer is paid for through my Super.."
21 Feb 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 9 years.
    "They we think are in the middle range for premiums and features are pretty much like most insurers but whenever I have had to speak to them over phone they have always been so helpful and friendly. I would recommend them.."
05 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 4 years.
    "I haven't had to make any claims, so unsure of their competence.."
02 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "The entire process from application to having the policy in force was simple and stressfree. Medicals were simple and was a smooth process. Customer service has been good and their letters are straight forward.."
25 Dec 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 2 years.
    "Very compassionate and prompt when it comes to claim time. Great customer service and more inclusive then other insurance companies.."
10 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 5 years.
    "Could easily suspend income protection when unemployed. Good communication with customer service and good value for money policy.."
23 Jun 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Very poor systems for reminding when for example auto payments fail because of change of credit card numbers. When policy reinstated, Asteron appear to make arbitrary modifications to cut back conditions of policy. Taking a poll of several clients of our accounting practice (all with Asteron/Suncorp) we have found that this is standard practice.."
24 Feb 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Best value in market for policy but frustrating to have to 're apply' for new policy with same provider at anniversary to get lowest cost offering."
26 Aug 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Over 20 years I paid top $$ for this insurance in case I ever became too ill to work. When I needed to claim (after being diagnosed with a very serious life long illness) I deeply regretted having my Income Prot Insurance with Asteron. They have sacked several of my case managers, never informing me or providing me with the name of a replacement. I'm left to find out when the monthly forms my GP & I have completed are not processed, no income protection payment is paid, the contact number of my case manager is 'no longer valid' when I ring, no out of office is left on their email, there is no thought for current clients. Based on the severity of my illness, Asteron determined that quarterly forms would suffice, providing me with this outlined in a letter. Yet every month they would send extremely terse letters threatening me regarding why a monthly form had not been submitted. I ended up having to pay a significant amount for someone to deal with Asteron on my behalf, resulting in Asteron writing to me again agreeing on quarterly submissions. Yet, they continued hounding me monthly. It is no wonder so many people start petitions about the extremely poor way they are deal with by insurance companies.."
29 Nov 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Poor communication. I am now looking for an alternative insurer."
25 Jun 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Never hear from them except to tell me premium has gone up and they have hit th bank account. I see other Providers with same or better policies, at more competitive rates. My existing policy is charging me more than $3000 year than what same policy would cost to replace today.."
28 Apr 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Asteron didn't just stick to the black and white rules when assessing my healthy living benefit. Despite me having to truthfully answer 'YES' to a couple of the automatic disqualification questions, they took my individual circumstances into account and approved the benefit. Also, I found the staff at InsuranceWatch to be very knowledgeable and helpful. It took a bit of communication back and fourth to establish my policy and the InsuranceWatch staff demonstrated to me that the brokerage is not just a faceless internet company. I was able to proceed with confidence that they will not just take my money but also be there to assist should I ever need to make a claim.."
01 Apr 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "A good pleasant experience, service and product meet my expectations.."
21 Oct 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I have held a policy for a long time and it continues to be excellent value even as I enter my decrepid years!."
21 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "I would recommend this service, good discounts and fast processing times. happy with the insurer.."
13 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Originally I was quite happy with this insurer, and I trusted my adviser. However, I have been loyal and paid the annual fees. Apart from the bi-annual fee notices, there have been no information on updates to the policy or whether there is something better they suggest. I have had no contact from my adviser in the past few years. I feel they have recently increased the fee so much, because they want me to drop the policy without offering any alternative. I am very disappointed.."
22 Feb 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I was very disappointed when I turned 60 when they took away the increases per year and also jumped up the premiums. I expected the premiums to jump but losing 20% of my coverage was a bit pathetic. No doubt hidden in the small print, but..........."
09 Feb 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Response time and payment was very prompt and customer service is excellent.."
17 Dec 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 7 years.
    "I am reviewing my policy with this insurer as it has had a 25% increase since last year for no reason.."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "We bought the policies through an AMP broker and feel that they have just been left and not reviewed. they have become expensive and not even sure they are relevant as jobs, lifestyle have changed in the meantime.."
27 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 7 years.
    "Policy too expensive and went out of their way to make life hard to put me off changing to set benefit with no yearly adjustment...."
17 Sep 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Both my husband and I have had income protection for years and the most recent premium increase was significant ie 30% increase in 1 year. Having used the Insurance Watch website, I realise how expensive it is and note that they are offering cheaper options thru your website. We are actively looking to change insurers asap."
21 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 2 years.
    "They actually accepted me as a policy holder & charge much less that my previous one. Inc Prot is very specialised & everyone needs to make their own decisions so don't feel I should recommend rather just say I did Ok with them.."
18 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Like: Owned by Suncorp. Dislike: Not as cheap as other insurance companies."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Cheap and good benefits.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Recommended by my financial adviser but the correspondence I have received from them has been very good."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 4 years.
    "I would recommend. No problems."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "I found them easy to deal with if I had any questions & yes I would probably recommend them."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Value for money seems ok very long process from initial application to receiving insurance.."
11 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "No comment."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 6 years.
    "Nothing."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "I would recommend them highly. Always helpful and professional.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "Great to deal with. Highly recommend.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Like - easy to apply dislike - have taken a while to get back to me on a email query i lodged."
05 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Great service, clear terms and conditions and awesome value for money.."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "I like this insurer because the ease of application, the timeliness of processing the application, and good value of money for the benefits offered.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20%* on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPhone XR