Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

Asteron

Asteron Insurance Reviews

Reviews for this insurance company have been provided by visitors to the Insurance Watch website. view all company reviews

Go to Rate your Insurer to provide a review on your insurance company and go into the draw for an iPhone 8.

Overall rating: 3.5 Stars Average+ from 31 reviews

Value for money 3.4 Stars
Features and benefits 3.5 Stars
Ease of Application 3.5 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.6 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.2 Stars

Claims rating: Poor+ Stars Poor+ from 3 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 2.3 Stars N/A
Processing time 2.7 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 3.0 Stars N/A

Read reviews

10 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 5 years.
    "Could easily suspend income protection when unemployed. Good communication with customer service and good value for money policy.."
23 Jun 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Very poor systems for reminding when for example auto payments fail because of change of credit card numbers. When policy reinstated, Asteron appear to make arbitrary modifications to cut back conditions of policy. Taking a poll of several clients of our accounting practice (all with Asteron/Suncorp) we have found that this is standard practice.."
24 Feb 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Best value in market for policy but frustrating to have to 're apply' for new policy with same provider at anniversary to get lowest cost offering."
26 Aug 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Over 20 years I paid top $$ for this insurance in case I ever became too ill to work. When I needed to claim (after being diagnosed with a very serious life long illness) I deeply regretted having my Income Prot Insurance with Asteron. They have sacked several of my case managers, never informing me or providing me with the name of a replacement. I'm left to find out when the monthly forms my GP & I have completed are not processed, no income protection payment is paid, the contact number of my case manager is 'no longer valid' when I ring, no out of office is left on their email, there is no thought for current clients. Based on the severity of my illness, Asteron determined that quarterly forms would suffice, providing me with this outlined in a letter. Yet every month they would send extremely terse letters threatening me regarding why a monthly form had not been submitted. I ended up having to pay a significant amount for someone to deal with Asteron on my behalf, resulting in Asteron writing to me again agreeing on quarterly submissions. Yet, they continued hounding me monthly. It is no wonder so many people start petitions about the extremely poor way they are deal with by insurance companies.."
29 Nov 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Poor communication. I am now looking for an alternative insurer."
25 Jun 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Never hear from them except to tell me premium has gone up and they have hit th bank account. I see other Providers with same or better policies, at more competitive rates. My existing policy is charging me more than $3000 year than what same policy would cost to replace today.."
28 Apr 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Asteron didn't just stick to the black and white rules when assessing my healthy living benefit. Despite me having to truthfully answer 'YES' to a couple of the automatic disqualification questions, they took my individual circumstances into account and approved the benefit. Also, I found the staff at InsuranceWatch to be very knowledgeable and helpful. It took a bit of communication back and fourth to establish my policy and the InsuranceWatch staff demonstrated to me that the brokerage is not just a faceless internet company. I was able to proceed with confidence that they will not just take my money but also be there to assist should I ever need to make a claim.."
01 Apr 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "A good pleasant experience, service and product meet my expectations.."
21 Oct 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I have held a policy for a long time and it continues to be excellent value even as I enter my decrepid years!."
21 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "I would recommend this service, good discounts and fast processing times. happy with the insurer.."
13 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Originally I was quite happy with this insurer, and I trusted my adviser. However, I have been loyal and paid the annual fees. Apart from the bi-annual fee notices, there have been no information on updates to the policy or whether there is something better they suggest. I have had no contact from my adviser in the past few years. I feel they have recently increased the fee so much, because they want me to drop the policy without offering any alternative. I am very disappointed.."
22 Feb 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I was very disappointed when I turned 60 when they took away the increases per year and also jumped up the premiums. I expected the premiums to jump but losing 20% of my coverage was a bit pathetic. No doubt hidden in the small print, but..........."
09 Feb 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Response time and payment was very prompt and customer service is excellent.."
17 Dec 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 7 years.
    "I am reviewing my policy with this insurer as it has had a 25% increase since last year for no reason.."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "We bought the policies through an AMP broker and feel that they have just been left and not reviewed. they have become expensive and not even sure they are relevant as jobs, lifestyle have changed in the meantime.."
27 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 7 years.
    "Policy too expensive and went out of their way to make life hard to put me off changing to set benefit with no yearly adjustment...."
17 Sep 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Both my husband and I have had income protection for years and the most recent premium increase was significant ie 30% increase in 1 year. Having used the Insurance Watch website, I realise how expensive it is and note that they are offering cheaper options thru your website. We are actively looking to change insurers asap."
21 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 2 years.
    "They actually accepted me as a policy holder & charge much less that my previous one. Inc Prot is very specialised & everyone needs to make their own decisions so don't feel I should recommend rather just say I did Ok with them.."
18 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Like: Owned by Suncorp. Dislike: Not as cheap as other insurance companies."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Cheap and good benefits.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Recommended by my financial adviser but the correspondence I have received from them has been very good."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 4 years.
    "I would recommend. No problems."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "I found them easy to deal with if I had any questions & yes I would probably recommend them."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Value for money seems ok very long process from initial application to receiving insurance.."
11 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "No comment."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 6 years.
    "Nothing."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "I would recommend them highly. Always helpful and professional.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "Great to deal with. Highly recommend.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Like - easy to apply dislike - have taken a while to get back to me on a email query i lodged."
05 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Great service, clear terms and conditions and awesome value for money.."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Asteron Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "I like this insurer because the ease of application, the timeliness of processing the application, and good value of money for the benefits offered.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20% on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPhone 8