Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

Zurich Insurance Reviews

Reviews and star ratings come from customers who have had a Zurich Life, TPD, Trauma or Income Protection insurance policy.

Check out Star Ratings and Reviews Summary to see how Zurich’s ratings compares to others

Use Compare Quotes to see how the premiums from Zurich stack up against other insurers

Go to Rate your Insurer to review your insurance company and go into a draw for an iPhone XR

Zurich

Overall rating: 3.5 Stars Average+ from 62 reviews

Value for money 3.6 Stars
Features and benefits 3.6 Stars
Ease of Application 3.6 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.6 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.4 Stars

Claims rating: Terrible+ Stars Terrible+ from 3 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 2.0 Stars N/A
Processing time 1.3 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 1.3 Stars N/A

Read reviews

18 Nov 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "I have no problem with Zurich. I use a broker so I don't have a lot of contact.."
16 Nov 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Communication has been easy and simple. Clarification on questions has been quick.."
21 Oct 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Trauma / Critical illness cover for 9 years.
    "Policy coverage is good. Customer service could be better. My payment method had expired and I had not realised, and they didn't contact me. It was only later that I was updating some other accounts that I realised and then I had to contact them to update the payments."
18 Oct 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "I think I actually dont even need it. I signed up for bouns points and haven't gotten around to cancelling yet.."
09 Sep 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Used my insurer on advice from a financial advisor and it's been ok so far."
27 Jun 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 5 years.
    "They have been very easy to deal with over the time I have been with them. I have been able to easily change my cover depending on my life circumstances for example when my pay went up I was able to increase my income protection. I have also changed my amount covered easily depending on new investments purchased such as an investment property so now I have peace of mind knowing that if something happened to me I will not have to necessarily sell my investments.."
06 Mar 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "Process was very easy to sign up- no medicals required I haven't needed the life insurance yet! So I can't comment on the way they manage it when it comes to claiming."
26 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "My level premium policy still goes up when they do a policy fee increase. Level premiums should always stay the same.."
21 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 5 years.
    "I've just signed up and forgotten about the policy. I might look into it later on.."
16 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Insurance premiums are too high compared to other insurers in the market.."
12 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 7 years.
    "I have had Income Protection, TPD and Life insurance with Zurich since 2011 at a cost of $1022 per month. I had to claim on my income protection policy after having to have emergency surgery. The procedure I had was a Laminectomy of C3 to C7 (neck vertebra). As well as a really tough operation to recover from I was left with Paulsy of my left arm. My left arm is now permanently numb, dislocated and requires tape and a brace to hold it in in the shoulder socket. It took a 'Financial Investigation' of 2 months just to prove my income and needed more information than an ATO audit. Then came the 'Fraud Investigation' where Zurich actually flew a Fraud Investigator from Sydney to my house in Perth to conduct a 4 hour recorded interrogation. The investigation to try and uncover any little thing I may have not disclosed continued until they realised they couldn't charge me with fraud, and on the 5th Dec 2017 they finally accepted liability and made 1 months payment instead of the 3 that were due. My financial situation and the fear of being charged for fraud got so bad that on 7th of Nov 2017 I had to return to work in my business unrecovered and in incredible pain. Zurich were super quick to respond to me about returning to work. They said they were happy for me to return to work as they would deduct what ever I earned from what they owed - if they accepted my claim. My Assessor - Geoff, managed to make me re supply information he already had and drag out the process of me trying to claim for the 2 months of payments that were owed right up until mid correspondence at 1.15pm EST 23rd Dec 2017, he left the office and left my family and I without a cent for Christmas. Its mid Jan 2018, Im still struggling to work and Im still waiting for those 2 payment or even Geoff to respond to the last email I sent before he left the office last year. They now owe 3 payments and very soon 4. My broker didn't mention that any of the above would happen when she sold me my policy because if any sane human being new they would have to go thru what my family and I are, there is now way you would take out income protection insurance I certainly wouldn't - and that is with any insurer. I would have been better off putting an extra $1022 on my mortgage every month for the last 7 years. Seriously worth consideration rather than give your money over to these criminals in the hope you are covered should the worst happen. I suffer an even greater dilemma now. I will require further surgery in the future which is risky - ie note dud arm from first round. I have discovered that my TPD policy will only cover me if I cant perform my job any more. Im in sales, so as long as I can talk and despite even being a quadriplegic, Zurich would not pay. So my TPD has been a waste of money as well. Finally there is my life insurance. Not keen to test it out but I certainly cannot rely on Zurich to pay out for my family should the worst occur. If your looking for insurance be very very cautious as you may end up like me. Im now uninsurable with any other insurance company and cant rely on the insurance I have. Im sorry about the bad review but if i was told how bad my life would become if I needed to claim on my policy, I could have made a lot of different decisions - like not having surgery until I was in a better financial position.."
06 Jan 2018 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "Never had any problems. Good competitive price. They don't communicate much."
29 Dec 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 6 years.
    "They're quick to take your money but slow to return it in a claim."
28 Nov 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Very good, but a bit vague. Im not sure if i am needing one of the insurances but i cant find the information to tell me.."
26 Sep 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "I wouldnt recommend as I have never had to contact so dont know if they are any good. The sign-up process took a long time to complete and now the premiums go up every year, but that is the same with all companies. I guess its what happens if you want insurance.."
16 Sep 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "Very easy process to sign up, good staff don't complicate things for you."
22 Aug 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "I havent made any claims but during the application process they have been very responsive.."
22 Aug 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "I really like how efficient they are and how knowledgeable their customer service staff are. It's reassuring when you speak to staff that know a lot about what they're pitching. They're response time could be better but for the service they provide, it's worth the wait. I would definitely refer them to family and friends.."
08 Aug 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 6 years.
    "They increase their premiums every year, and there is little to no reward for staying with them."
05 Aug 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "Application process was simple and it doesn't cost much for peace of mind. Haven't made a claim though which is the moment of truth for any insurance policy.."
13 Feb 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Application process was straight forward and processing went well to.."
19 Nov 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Never made a claim. no problem thus far as they make it easy to pay.."
22 Sep 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "Absolutely horrible. They went completely out of their way to make the claim process difficult.."
20 Jul 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I have never made a claim so I do not really know if they deliver. I was reliant in the advice received at the time I commenced the cover I like that their communications are very clear."
12 Jul 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Not expensive, has a lot of benefits, would recommend to family and friends.."
05 Jul 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "I am a first time buyer, Zurich has good products and is value for money.."
25 Mar 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 8 years.
    "They are very good in their pricing and cheaper than others."
18 Feb 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "They noted the type of nursing I do and reduced the risk & there for the cost. Got to love that.."
06 Feb 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "I've had a policy with zurich for years. there's not alot of transparency on what's covered and what's not. never hear from them. paid out 1000s over the years. considering changing policies.."
11 Nov 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "I set up this policy through Insurance Watch and had a fabulous experience. The friendliest, most efficient service I have ever experienced with regard to finding insurance. Many thanks to all at Insurance Watch."
12 Sep 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Yes I would recommend - easy, hassle free purchase, just like it should be."
13 Aug 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Very comprehensive cover at a competitive premium. I would recommend this insurer to others based on their product offering and flexibility to my circumstances.."
07 Aug 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Friendly, explained the details clearly and benefits of insurance. This insurance represented good value for the dollars paid.."
07 Aug 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Liked the features of this insurance. It is expensive insurance to have for me but after looking at other policies it represents pretty good value.."
29 Jan 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "The prices just keep going up which is making things a bit difficult."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Not much experience yet, it is a new IP policy. Initial process was OK. Thanks T."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Would certainly recommend Zurich."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Good value for money. Regular communication.."
19 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Extremely timeconsuming application process."
18 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 2 years.
    "Insurance was organised through a broker, so not sure if this policy is really the best one on offer in the market place at the moment.."
17 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "I have not had to engage directly with my insurer as I am within year 1. Notwithstanding I have no reason to not contunue with them, particularly as I am well informed about my insurance and responses to simple questions have been timely and complete.."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Huge premium hikes, no interest in discussing needs.."
31 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
    "The insurance has suited me prior to my semi retirement circumstances. The broker agent has not been in touch with me for over 5 years and when I phoned (left a message to contact me) to inquire about reducing my policy I didn't receive a return call.."
26 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 7 years.
    "Been with them for years and they have never reviewed my policies."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "Insurance companies are a necessary evil. They are a profit making organisation not a social service. I only insure things I cannot afford to self insure. I got life insurance with Zurich through the financial advisor service at the ANZ bank. Of the insurance companies that the ANZ deals with only Zurich would insure me but at a 50% premium on the cost. They would not provide income protection. This was because of a condition I had had that I believed to be fully cured with no residual effects. I didn't feel that I had any additional risk of dying. The case left me feeling 'What do they know about my health that my doctor doesn't. Am I likely to die soon'. I think if an insurance company assesses you as a different risk to others they should disclose the information supporting that decision. I support Zurich in that they were prepared to insure me when others wouldn't.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I have found the acquisition of this policy and the overall benefits to be excellent. I have had excellent customer service when I have contacted them about this policy as well.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Income Protection for 2 years.
    "It's OK. just a bit expensive."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
    "The financial planner that researched this insurer is more relevant than the insurer itself.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Income Protection for 3 years.
    "They were reasonably priced with good range of benefits. I haven't had any claims so I cannot comment on their processes there.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "No issues so far with this insurer. Would be happy to recommend.."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Has been no trouble. Customer service prompt and accurate on the one occasion I needed to contact them.."
02 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had Zurich Life Insurance for 2 years.
    "It is value for money and would definitely recommend. Overall quite happy with the company.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20%* on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPhone XR