Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

TAL Insurance Reviews

Reviews for this insurance company have been provided by visitors to the Insurance Watch website. view all company reviews

Go to Rate your Insurer to provide a review on your insurance company and go into the draw for an iPad.

Overall rating: 3.5 Stars Average+ from 86 reviews

Value for money 3.2 Stars
Features and benefits 3.5 Stars
Ease of Application 3.5 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.4 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.3 Stars

Claims rating: Terrible+ Stars Terrible+ from 9 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 1.8 Stars N/A
Processing time 1.7 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 1.6 Stars N/A

Read reviews

14 Apr 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 9 years.
"Well Australia super pay insurance out of my super fund which is a rort and you don't know this is happening to TAL life insurance and when you ring then to get a statement and transaction from them you can't get one from them to check what Australia super is paying TAL life insurance them and this is our money come out of my Australia supper fund as these two business are making a killing with our money as member when I told them that I didn't what insurance as the insurance just keep eaten in to your supper fund till there is none left TAL life insurance must have a responsibility to let Australia super fund member no that there is money come out of Australia super fund member account and not just reaping the benefits with out the member not knowing what going on between there two companies are doing with the member money with no statement and transaction not clear by both companies and then I angry for a quote from TAL life insurance at $100,000 thousand dollars and it was half the prices that has been taken out of my Australia super fund and the insurance that I had was only for $35,000 thousand dollars so this is a rort going on here."
12 Mar 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 10 years or more.
"Tal insurance is not to be trusted, still waiting on claim after 14 years, proven disability, spinal and head due to work injury. Seen all the promises on their website and bought this to their attention, so they Tal deleted all the details of any promises on the website. Luckily I took a copy of this before they changed it, showed my lawyer he said it just goes to show what type of company you’re dealing with. They will not honor a contract, will run you broke fighting them, and this is what they have done. Don't bother trying to make a claim. They will use every trick in the book to stall or totally avoid payment to you! They will not help you in your time of need, they will just treat you like a criminal! Don't use tal more than 14 years down the track now and TAL are still treating me like a criminal ,I asked for forms to escalate my case ,my Dr asked ,there local insurance person asked till he was blue in the face ,no forms still, heard about all the lie's they can tell. They are trying every trick known and unknown to get out of paying my claim. I think they hope that if they string you along for long enough you will be struggling so much financially that you won't be able to afford to take them to court. Don't believe Tal's TV advertisement Don't expect that Tal will pay you when you make a claim. If only it were that simple. They will scrutinise every detail in an effort to avoid paying your claim. You will get the run around for possibly years until you just give up or are financially ruined. Find a better insurance company. That shouldn't be hard when Tal's attitude and performance when you need them is so downright poor! Have been unable to pay for spinal surgery to stop the pain I suffered from the workshop injuries this has cost me everything financially . Don't trust them,they are not even an Australian owned company.."
02 Feb 2017 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Great policy rate and great customer service from Donna. I will recommend the service to friends.."
20 Nov 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Excellent product overall, good feature and benefits, easy application process."
17 Nov 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"The application process for TAL Life insurance was easy and hassle free. Insurance Watch were great in assisting with the process and advice. I made a claim for prostate cancer in August this year. With the help of Insurance Watch as my advisor the claim application was very easy to complete. TAL Life were very efficient and helpful in processing my claim. It did take a couple of months to process the claim. This wasn't the fault of TAL Life, but the fault of other parties delaying information to TAL Life for them to complete the claim and make a decision. Under the terms of my policy there were some grey areas where my claim could of been declined by TAL Life. With the help of Insurance Watch (Donna) we put a business case forward to TAL Life to pay my claim. TAL Life chose to exercise their discretion and showed understanding and compassion and paid my claim. I would highly recommend TAL Life for all your Life Insurance needs. Also would like to say that Insurance Watch have been Fantastic to deal with through the whole process of applying for Insurance to making a claim. They are a credit to the insurance industry.."
14 Nov 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
"This is a brief of my complaint - there were many more phone calls and contacts. My wife and I had a Tal Life insurance for well over 10 years and in that time the premiums for my policy, ballooned out of all proportions. I personally had cover for $1,000,000 and attempted to cancel the policy as the price had spiralled upward of $12,000 per year. I paid that years payment and asked for the cost of the premium for the next year, which they refused to give, as they claimed it was to complex and would only be given when due. I asked them for the form to cancel my policy, which they said would be posted (they claimed they were not allowed to email it) - It never arrived. When the next premium was due it had rocketed up over $15,000. The only way I could cancel it was to refuse to pay the premium and THEN, when they contacted me, as the premium had not been paid, they sent me the form to cancel the policy. Taking into account the nature of this company, it would have been a nightmare for my wife to have collected on this policy. - I believe they would have made life hell. KEEP AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!."
31 Oct 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 3 years.
"The process of owning the policy was hassle free, however when i went to cancel my policy with them it was next to impossible!!!! I had to ask three times for the form to be emailed to me....!."
27 Sep 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 3 years.
"Possibly the worst decision you could make is to use TAL. They are claim dodging scum who will treat you like a criminal and get out of paying whatever they can! Really bad value!."
04 Aug 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"TAL is the insurer of choice of my Super fund (UNISuper). I transferred my super across to UNISuper and subsequently had to re-lodge an application to increase my insurance level (such as I had with my previous Superfund). Doing the right thing I ticked a box on the form to indicate that I had an identified condition with a heart value – a completely non-life threatening, non-anything condition that large portions of the population are born with and never even know they have, but I happened to have been told about it and figured it was the right thing to declare. TAL then made me jump through a ridiculous number of hoops getting reports from doctors and cardiologists etc. all of whom told me there was nothing to really worry about with my condition. Five months later TAL sent me through a letter denying my application for insurance. Clearly no one at TAL Life Insurance has any medical training what so ever and the company is a typical SHAM insurance agent just out to make money and do whatever is necessary to deny members their right to fair cover and fair compensation. I’m am very disappointed that UNISuper would use such a disgraceful excuse for an insurer.."
01 Aug 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"The application process was clear and efficient I am still waiting on the welcome pack but I would imagine it will arrive soon."
21 Jul 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
"Had Life Cover for many years. Cover is now small but huge premium for the cover increasing annually. Did a check and Allianz premium for the same cover is HALF. Tried to talk to TAL. Today is my third attempt. Am sick of ' We will get back to you. This is an old policy and I don't have access to it.' Still no one calls me. TAL it's time for a divorce and I will certainly tell friends and colleagues of my poor relationship with TAL.."
08 Feb 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Easy to call and talk with. Very unhelpful and will do anything to get out of a claim. Do not recommend as it will only prolong suffering."
01 Jan 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"Never claimed, never know. Buy TAL as I had insurance with them at my industry superfund.."
01 Jan 2016 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"I had TAL life and TPD insurance at my industry super fund before. Never claimed so never know the service quality.."
13 Oct 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 8 years.
"Good insurerer that provides a good service at a reasonable price."
05 Aug 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 8 years.
"I have read all the comments on this insurer, I don't normally leave feedback etc. but I just had to with this lot. Yes they, like most probably all insurers make it sweet and easy to sign up and give them money! All those that have written excellent insurer wait till you have to claim ..... Having had this policy for over 8 years, I unfortunately injured my back at work, so I wasn't after the full amount just the top up that workers comp. didn't pay. The amount of forms I have had to fill out, with duplicate forms that doctors and surgeons have had to fill out is unbelievable, that's if the forms they sent where actually sent out, having supplied them with half a forest worth of paperwork there always seems to be something missing. To say I'm very unhappy with them is a big understatement. If you do choose to use this insurer, be prepared to do lots of running around and paperwork, having your case manager swapped mid process, phone calls not returned/answered all in all I think my rating of TAL is spot on."
02 Aug 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 7 years.
"My partner is currently in the process of claiming on income protection through TAL. He has paid their premiums for nearly 7 years without ever claiming. He injured his back at work 3 1/2 months ago and has been home on workers compensation since. The workers compensation payments were to drop to 80% of his income after 3 months so my partner contacted TAL (4 weeks earlier) and was assured they would 'top up' his income and he just needed to contact them when the 3 months was up. We're now into 3 1/2 months and TAL's requests for certificate completion by various doctors, copies of group certificates and multiple other requests has stalled any payments. My partner has phoned them every day and he is constantly told that he needs to provide 'one more piece of information / evidence'. One of the advisors recently mentioned another injury he had 4 years ago - not entirely sure of the relevance considering no claim for income protection was made ? Mick is legitimately injured and having surgery next Friday. He has been able to prove this but still TAL have made us wait. He has seen out any waiting periods but at this stage TAL have not made any income protection payments. It is nearly 4 months and our mortgage & bills still have to be paid. We feel thoroughly dissatisfied and frustrated and would not, at this stage recommend this insurance company for income protection.."
29 Jun 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Trauma / Critical illness cover for 5 years.
"I would recommend this insurer to others. I have used them for a number of years.."
05 May 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
"Life Insurance stops at age 80. Don't know if this is standard but I'm looking for options.."
04 Apr 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 10 years or more.
"These guys are the a bunch of thieves they have been taking my premiums for over 15 years a valid life threatening illness ie CANCER with a medical advice that returning to work will inhibit my recovery still does not motivate these bastards to honour their obligations please do not insure with these people -you will be wasting your money."
24 Mar 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Insurancewatch was fantastic to deal with. Every question I asked was answered quickly as well as any quotes I requested. I would recommend Insurancewatch to anyone looking for insurance. Anja."
10 Mar 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"The application process was quite easy and hassles free. The premium is cheaper than other insurers for comparable cover.."
08 Mar 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 3 years.
"Well, buying a policy is so easy but try and make a claim. Yeap, I seriously hurt myself by a fall. I put a claim in. They needed so many reports. It took sometime to get these Reports. I couldnt leave the house and when I did it was exhausting. Hospital Report including Xrays clearly showed that I had really hurt myself. When you are so unwell this is an extremely difficult process. I had to pay for all the Reports, so by the time I paid tax and fees I was left with a very precious small amount. In September I submitted an Update Report, which was posted at the end of September. On the 9 October I was requested for another Update Report. The ink was barely dry on the September Update. When I rang and spoke to someone other than my Case Manager who was shocked that this did not seem correct or proper. Subsequently I didnt have to lodge the October Update. So to say the least, it all depends on your Case Manager as to how difficult the process is. It not like the TV Ad where the guy has a broken leg and has income protection. Goodluck with that, cos you generally have a waiting period in order to access Income Protection, so check your Policy.."
25 Feb 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Application through Insurance Watch is easy enough and PDS is attached which help with decision making. The person I dealt with at Insurance Watch, Donna is helpful and great at replying to my queries promptly. Overall, the whole process is professional and smooth. I would have no hesitation in recommending others to use this service.."
18 Feb 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 2 years.
"My policy is twice the amount that i see them listed on your site. Plus they just tried to push 15% increases onto me.."
18 Feb 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"I liked that they qualified their risk but didn't put the price up The policy had alot of great features that my previous insurer did not. Communication was good but the best feature was the price. I would recommend this service to anyone who was looking for insurance, saves time and money and gives a great product ( not just a discount policy)."
08 Feb 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 7 years.
"Premiums have gone through the roof this year and I will not be renewing with TAL."
10 Jan 2015 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 3 years.
"Looking at value for money as current policies with TAL that was organized by our Financial Planner seem a bit excessive against other providers as per Insurance Watch website.."
09 Oct 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"Yes I would recommend, process was easy to complete and follow.."
23 Sep 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
"I like it for its value and benefits and I can recommend to others. However I haven't made any claim yet.."
12 Sep 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
"Have found the experience surprisingly quick & efficient. Had very responsive & friendly experience from Insurance Watch. Will return to this broker for future insurance needs.."
29 Aug 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I found the process very easy (online) and did it myself. I would recommended them, although I have not made a claim.."
08 Jul 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 9 years.
"Have not had a revision with this company since new 9 years ago."
03 Jul 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
"I have a policy with this insurer but through a broker which is WealthSure Pty Ltd. My premium is approx $400 per month and I can obtain the same cover online for approx $110 per month. TAL themselves seem very professional but I will not accept what I am paying at the moment.."
25 Jun 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"I think it should be more clearly explained that for a business owner, amount of income protected is your gross income and is not linked to your business income.."
17 Jun 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Trauma / Critical illness cover for 5 years.
"Good communication, good customer service, would like more time to review policy renewal before due date."
03 Jun 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
"My overall experience has been hard work trying to claim what I am entitled to. Never hear from assessor never available except to leave a message on her phone. I am the one continuously forwarding to them copies of the paper work already forwarded to them, as to date I have had 3 assessors. No I could not recommend them to anyone, and sadly I am sorry I am with them too.."
14 Feb 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 4 years.
"We were with TAL insurance company for approx four years and never claimed a cent. When we chose to close the policy, we no longer required. That is when they chose to be difficult. We emailed closure details stating all the necessary information. (Email is how all correspondence had been dealt with during the whole setting up process) although we still receive 'please pay' letters constantly. Four months and many calls/emails - we are still receiving 'please pay' letters! Easy to setup the account hard to close!."
23 Jan 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"It was easy to get the quote and submit the application."
13 Jan 2014 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 2 years.
"Terrible. Case workers NEVER call back and despite TAL's assurance that your case worker will keep in touch there is no communication after the claim is processed. Several months ago I made a formal compliant re: poor service. It took a week for the complaints officer to call me back, and despite the officer assuring me I would receive and outcome I never heard anything back. Monthly forms for assessment have not arrived on three occasions, and when I made a complaint about this the second time it happened the explanation I was give was 'perhaps it got lost in the mail' and in future I should really call TAL if my forms don't arrive! TAL's motto of 'we're here to help' is a total farce! Overall I have found dealing with TAL a really stressful experience which has not helped with being ill. Every month is an anxious wait to see if my benefits will be paid on time. I wouldn't recommend them at all.."
09 Dec 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"They have an excellent offer for the price - about 20% cheaper than competitors. Would recommend. Haven't had to claim so can't comment on that.."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 2 years.
"I had an online insurance broker find the best deal for me and that was TAL. The whole process was quick and easy.I would highly recommend them to others.."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 2 years.
"I think all insurances are too pricey. I haven't had a claim but i hope the process would be as smooth as when i first signed up. My brother and sister also have Income Protection with Tal. I have another policy with Tal. I would recommend them to others...i am quiet happy.."
27 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Application and ongoing paperwork was was straightforward (thanks to Insurancewatch handling / processing this!). I am satisfied with the insurer, in what they offer and would therefore recommend them to friends & family.."
14 Nov 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I have found them easy to deal with. They made changes when asked and very promptly. Highly recommended and great value for money.."
26 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Quick and easy."
25 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Never had a claim so I have no idea what they were like."
24 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
"Liked: * Application process it was straight forward and over the phone Disliked: * Lack of written communications, infrequent communication Recommend: * Not sure I would recommend them, but I wouldn't advise against them either."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 3 years.
"Minimal communication and updates once policy finalised. They failed to return my call. Premium seems very high compared to other policies quoted online. Currently considering a change to another company.."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Very easy simple application process.."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"I liked it and overall it has good reputation and value for money."
19 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 5 years.
"I have no issues with my insurance, I'm quite happy with it."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Easy transact, great will kit provided free, reasonable policy fee.."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 3 years.
"Liked this insurer at first as it was the best monthly rate for what was offered. The premium has escalated so much over the past 2 years however (without my circumstances changing), I'm thinking of changing insurers. As my salary has gone up by about $10 000 over the past 3 years I enquired about changing the amount to be insured. This premium was an additional $30 a month on top of the increases already on my premium. Expensive!."
14 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 2 years.
"Using insurance watch was easy and the application and renew process was quick and easy too.."
14 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 2 years.
"Easy to apply and value for money.."
14 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Information about the policy details was easily available. Relevant completion documentation arrived in a timely manner. There is no online component to 'check-in' or updated details that I can find with this TAL policy, or with their direct InsuranceLine arm. Something like that would be useful for them to provide clients. Having done it entirely online with Insurance Watch in the first place, it would be nice if they continued the trend!."
13 Jun 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 3 years.
"Very good communication, efficient processing."
22 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"The proccess was a little bit too much as in the forms were many and long. My wife and I both took out Life and the forms didnt work well with this but the customer service kept saying the forms were for couples. It came through at the end and the service was nice.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 9 years.
"Never had a problem with this insurer. I would recommend them to peers.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
"Would not recommend. Policy not user friendly.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Offers excellent value for low cost would definitely recommend."
19 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"The person who sold the insurance to me showed a great amount of concern and respect for my personal circumstances. this was very much appreciated.."
19 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Fantastic product and company, keep doing what you do best.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 3 years.
"No ongoing communications or info to help me as a client consumer. low flexibility in assisting with changes.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
"This insurer thinks nothing of raising premiums by 10-12% per year. Their customer service people can't even provide answer as to why the rises are so big except to smugly say 'you have a stepped premium ha ha'."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
"Looking for something with lower premium and with level option other than step only."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"Very good."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Overall a prompt and easy service, just the paperwork could be a little confusing! But very happy with the process and excellent customer service!."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 2 years.
"Regular check in to ensure I am still happy with product."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"Easy to setup and very quick to help out when have accidentally missed payment. Service is always very good if I ever need to contact them.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 3 years.
"TAL have excellent service and they keep you up to date with timely information without overkill and inundating us with information overflow. I would certainly recommend them.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
"To me they are an insurer and just that. I pay them monthly and the premium seems reasonable when compared to the others in the market. The proof will come when / if I have to claim. I don't feel particularly strongly for or against them and somewhat resent paying insurance at all as I hope I'm never in a position where I have to claim.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
"Nothing either good or bad to say about them as everything to do with setup and ongoing matters has happened promptly and accurately, but I have not had to make a claim so I cannot say how good/bad they are on that side of things.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
"Nothing either good or bad to say about them as everything to do with setup and ongoing matters has happened promptly and accurately, but I have not had to make a claim so I cannot say how good/bad they are on that side of things.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, Funeral Insurance / Plan for 6 years.
"Yes I would recommend this insurer to others, they ring occasionally to do a follow up on the policies but do not harass me, I believe these policies are affordable and value for money as I had rang a few and found these to be the best ones around at the time.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 3 years.
"Essentially a good value for money term life policy. Some minor hiccups in communications but good customer service.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
"Encountered exclusions that would not result in disability. Additional policy to counter exclusion lapsed and was not advised.."
10 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 7 years.
"Very good customer service, and fast application process too. Also it's good they can deduct premium from my super (certain super platform/company only of course).."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"I haven't had any issues with TAL, it was recommended by you as the best policy for our situation. I haven't had to deal with them directly as it was all done by Insurance Watch. so overall a very straight forward process, once done you tend to forget about it and hope you don't need it!."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 2 years.
"I think TAL are a terrific insurer, they are great value for money and have a good track record of being easy to deal with (I have not had a claim myself but have had friends and family who have and they rate them very highly).."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"What I mostly like for current insurer is easy communication via email and over the phone, but I don't like they are not willing to provide the softcopy of insurance contract.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"The choosing and application for this insurer was via yourselves (Insurance Watch), so this question is not really applicable.."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
"My financial planner Sam G. was very good at explaining it all to me, and working out what I needed. I would definitely recommend him to anyone.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
"It seemed to offer the most for the money.would recommend to others.."
02 May 2013 Overall rating
Claims rating
Review by
Had TAL Income Protection for 6 years.
"Have made no claims, so difficult to assess.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20% on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPad