Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

AMP Insurance Reviews

Reviews for this insurance company have been provided by visitors to the Insurance Watch website. view all company reviews

Go to Rate your Insurer to provide a review on your insurance company and go into the draw for an iPhone 7.

Overall rating: 3.0 Stars Average from 66 reviews

Value for money 3.2 Stars
Features and benefits 3.5 Stars
Ease of Application 3.4 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.3 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.1 Stars

Claims rating: Average Stars Average from 9 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 3.0 Stars N/A
Processing time 2.8 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 3.0 Stars N/A

Read reviews

27 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 6 years.
    "Overall experience has been satisfactory. However have never made a claim, thankfully no need to. The insurance company sends me a renewal each year and straightforward to renew. This year I have shopped around and found what appears to be a better/cheaper deal for the same level of cover.."
24 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 6 years.
    "To be honest I don't really deal with them, as it was signed up through an old employer and I've never had to claim."
21 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "It's peace of mind having life insurance with AMP. Yes I would recommend.."
12 Jul 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I became incapacitated in 2001 // I made claim with AMP after failing to recover in early 2002. AMP's Chief Medical Officer advised claim could be backdated (subject to medical reports) to onset of illness. This then took almost 8 years to resolve. AMP paid me a $1100 per moth less than their letters stated I would receive. This let to tons of ignored correspondence with a constantly changing claims assessor who always had no record of previous documentation. AMP sent an interviewer to see me in 2004. The interview was taped, the interviewer transcribed the tape and the transcription in no way resembled the recording. I challenged AMP on this but was told that no one at AMP had time to look at this. I engaged a solicitor and AMP eventually backed down. Having failed to obtain a reason to stop my payments with a dodgy interviewer AMP then sent me to Sydneys's most notorious hired gun doctor. This doctor was named in The Australian Newspaper in an article entitled 'cash for comment' AMP used this report to stop my payments. I challenged them again and was eventually re-instated but it took many months. I was a hospital patient at the time they stopped my payments yet they had failed to realise this. I had provided full details of hospitals, doctors , dates etc. During the time of non payment I got so far behind in other debts etc (including my mortgage) that I lost my home. Since this time they have occasionally put me under surveillance and I have be come reclusive. I dread going out incase a photo turns up on social media of me having a life. Because my employment involved driving a vehicle I no longer put any petrol etc on my credit card as AMP monitor my bank statements etc. The number of reports they request is ridiculous and when a doctor's report requests assistance or information it is diligently ignored. AMP constantly apply an annual CPI premium increase but do not increase my payments. They do however send me a document that says they will. I have lodged a 35 page complaint with their complaints department and am awaiting some sort of response. I have asked them to compensate me for all the things they have done that have had a negative impact on my life. There is more to my story but if you have read this far and seen the 7.30 report on ABC 11/07/2017 you will most likely avoid AMP by the widest berth possible.."
30 May 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
    "I visited your web site to review and compare. I have AMP insurance that have had a price increase of 11% on a levelled premium. I have held AMP ins for 7 yrs. Prior to this we were with AXA , AXA got bought by AMP. We were happy with AXA. Your web site was able to compare the others Insures. Thank you. Kris J."
22 May 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Have only been with for 2 months, but seems good. Good Reviews from others. Application processed well.."
01 Feb 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "My claim was made in November and am yet to receive an outcome as AMP have not been able to follow up and get the information needed. Communication with me is pathetic. My case manager said a cheque was sent to my GP which was not received. I have to actively followup with AMP for them to take action. 2 weeks later a new cheque has still not been posted to my GP. I would assume that if doctors have not responded, AMP need to followup and inform the claimant of the delay instead in my case, action is only taken when I contact AMP. This is despite me asking them to email me if they have not had a response. I will hesitate to recommend AMP to anyone as they are not compassionate and are not there when you need the help.."
09 Jan 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "I liked, i wouldn''t recommend them. Thank you very much."
26 Oct 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 9 years.
    "Easy join as it was a Continuance Offer after leaving an employer and it took over from the Life cover I had within employer Super fund. Premiums are VERY expensive.."
11 Oct 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I have been with AMP for over 40 years. Ive had two short term illness claims over that period and now facing a third with diagnosed Depression and mild CFS. After much investigation, AMP took three months to accept my ill health, paying me after the first eight weeks since October last year. Im still financially supported by AMP and its been a long road without signs of recovery but AMP now are making it very difficult for me to continue under their changing and demanding requirements. The insurer has every right to know my health condition in order for my insurance cover to continue as a supportable income for me. But now its become a battle with trying to supply information that is out of my control. My AMP acting agent has now informed me that my Psychologist Counselor has refused to release (personal) counselling information which would will compromise my ongoing insurance support, even through I have given my authority for release of documentation. Apparently, this is due to a legal policy and Code of Ethics relating to Client confidentiality. And unfortunately for me, AMP can use this legal loophole and tact as to stop my income protection. I some how knew that AMP would find a way not to payout. I just only wish they told me how difficult they where going to make my life before paying all that money over the hard working 45 years. It really shows how serious they where going to be in supporting my later years of poor health, its about taking our money and not giving the services we paid for. I have lost trust in AMP and for what they represent.."
08 Feb 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 6 years.
    "Not sure that we are getting covered for and if it is too much!."
28 Jun 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "They seem a lot more expensive than necessary, compared to others."
27 Jan 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Overall I considered that AMP offered very good coverage with the backing of a very strong financial position. Coverage was very comprehensive however it was not the least expensive available. I was also paying a financial adviser service fees for the annual renewal, whilst they may have provided the initial advice, they no longer are offering anything noteworthy and yet are receiving financial benefits from the continuation of the policy.."
05 Jan 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
    "I went through an insurance broker therefore my judgement is somewhat effected by his actions rather than the insurer themselves. In the past when I have communicated directly with the insurance company I was happy with the service I received.."
16 Oct 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 4 years.
    "As an ex-financial planner I had no issues with this insurer.."
28 Aug 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "After having income protection for my profession as a theatre nurse for 20 years and paying approximately $110,000 in premiums, I have been knocked back on my claim (I have been diagnosed with narcolepsy and deemed unfit to work) on the grounds that my photography hobby is a registered business, even though it has never made a profit (and it has nothing to so with my policy for nursing). It has been over 12 months since I've made my claim and had no income. I've had to sell my house and buy a smaller dwelling with my daughter and her family just to survive. I've recently been approved for a disability pension by centre link and back-payed for 12 months (only a small amount that barely covers bills) but AMP is still refusing to pay me (despite being deemed disabled). Originally they told my financial adviser they would pay but it would take time and they were just working out how much,but then a year later they said they had decided not to pay and that I am not able to claim if I am 'able to work whether paid or unpaid' capacity (this is despite the fact that my policy was about my work as a nurse and nothing to do with my hobby of photography). The entire time I have been waiting for a reply I am being forced to pay the $900 per month premium or they will cancel the policy (which I am paying with my savings). This is where I am at currently and am I writing in the desperate hope that no other Australians are fooled into taking out a policy or having anything to to with AMP and I am hoping that more people will stand against them. They seem to stall until they find some crazy loop hole and force you to pay premiums while you wait for them to find another. AMP has destroyed my life and I urge anyone else who has found this to step forward.."
13 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "Liked - application completed without too much of my involvement once the form was completed Disliked - probably could have provided an update at times throughout the process."
14 Mar 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I have had very little contact with the insurer so I have nothing to add."
12 Mar 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Easy application process. I liked being assinged a single point of contact who could provide solid advice and provide options. Good communication and great service.."
28 Jan 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Income Protection for 7 years.
    "As I've just discovered, stupidly expensive and poor value for money.."
28 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "They were professional and courteous. I would recommend to others, depending on whether the policy suited the needs of the person.."
26 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 5 years.
    "This insurance offers good value for money since I have it as a default on my superannuation package. The benefit/cover it offers probably not the best in the market.."
26 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 8 years.
    "Have not had much dealings with them, we just pay our monthly premium.."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "No comment."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 2 years.
    "Good service and fair value for your buck!."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "The price of it is very expensive.."
19 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 5 years.
    "Generally used them as they are linked with my works super fund.."
19 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 4 years.
    "As all I do is pay a renewal premium each year to which they address the information incorrently I haven't had enough dealings with them to form an opinion. I will be undertaking a review within the next few months prior to renewal to ascertain whether I am getting value for money and if not I will change insurers.."
18 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 4 years.
    "The insurer (with my permission) dealt directly with my financial advisor in relation to the policies. This made it much easier on me than spending hours on the phone to them.."
17 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Im happy the way whst is Thanks."
17 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Its been there for so long I don't really review it."
16 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Easy communication and set up of plan. Much cheaper than others for the same benefits.."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Having had this policy for quite some time now I have nothing but good to say about them. They initially assisted me with this policy when I took out my first mortgage and continued to assist. Having not yet had to make a claim ( if I had I would not be taking part in this survey), as yet I am unable to vouch for their claims service.."
22 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Originally Australian Casualty & Life and the AXA, now AMP. I have had no real experience with this insurer, I just renew the premium each year to protect my husband should I die prematurely.."
19 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "I have had this cover for 23 years now. Was first one company, then changed to AXA for many years, then only taken over by AMP about 2 years ago. I have only changed my cover down this month as I have found it too expensive now as it increases every year. Anyway, overall I am very happy with the cover. I may never use it, but like all insurances, it is good to have 'just in case'.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Fairly easy to deal with. Not much variation allowed."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Had some issues in the past with them not communicating chages to policies.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Good easy internet site."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "Liked amount of policy. Disliked the way that wrong information kept getting sent."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Excellent definitions, competitve pricing. Transition to AMP was handled effectively, communications were clear and timely.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Have never had to make a claim so really have not had any contact with them.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 5 years.
    "All been very smooth - went through an agent who was very helpful Have no issues as we have never needed to claim."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 6 years.
    "My requests weren't listened to when I initially took out my insurance with AMP. The issue was more to do with the financial planner providing this policy than AMP. However, when I have tried to contact AMP, they have been unable to do something so simple as help me change my password. Generally, phone service has been dreadful. Very little to like.."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "My policy offers value-for-money cover and subsequent quotes with competitors have been more expensive for less cover!."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I had a sudden catastrophic illness in 2012 which led to 9 moths not working and claims against my trauma, income and business expenses policies. AXA (now rebranded as AMP) were actually very good in dealing with the claim except for the initial processing of the claim despite all paperwork being lodged in a timely manner. Apart from being a long time (over 1 month) there was very poor communication considering my situation at the time. There was an initial lack of any empathy or understanding. It is quite important that assessors who actually have the initial contact with clients are trained in appropriate communication skills to be able deal with the variety of serious situations and people that they have to contact. However, overall the ongoing processing of the claim and payments and contact was really excellent and meant my recovery was not hampered by any financial stress.."
16 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I would need to review their products now as it was too long ago to be able to recommend them. I haven't required the insurance so can't comment on their customer service.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 5 years.
    "I had a problem with their customer service which was very frustrating and would make me unlikely to recommend them.."
15 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Painful to organise, especially when tied to a superannuation fund.."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Good value and Yes I would recommend them to others."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Competitive rates and I would recommend them to others."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Many changes in Advisers over the years but I've always dealt direct with company and received excellent service.."
13 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "The fact that I can borrow on this policy is a great feature - contact and response from them is a little to be desired but the end result has been achieved and the policy benefit is still growing.."
09 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 6 years.
    "Very Standard Process and Basic Communications. Service was not personalised, I felt like a number in a queue. Handling of bloods and medical was clumsy and not transparent. Original insurer was AXA but is now AMP.."
09 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 2 years.
    "Reasonably happy even though originally with AXAlife."
09 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "Originally with AXAlife, however now AMP. I did not want an automatic inflation increase & I have contacted them 4 times now & they still increased the sum insured. I am not happy. I have emailed & phoned twice doing everything they requested to no avail. I have put in writing & signed & emailed. The main problem I think is with there email system, as you get a Return Email Receipt From AMP saying Your request will be allocated to the relevant team within 24 hours and processed as per the existing service levels that apply to the request type. However nothing gets done. I received a letter today with the insurance schedule detailing an increased sum insured, which we did not want, I phoned again & complained again to Nathan S.."
09 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 7 years.
    "Liked the dealings with our personal planner from AMP. Local and knowledgeable. Like the policies in place. Yes, I would reccoment to others.."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 2 years.
    "Very friendly customer service which is very rare these days, she followed up enquiry's promptly and gave us all options to consider.."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Good value and price for a person my age. Would recommend them purely because of value.."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Extemely difficult to talk to, long phone qait times, then tell you that yoyur allocated advisor will call you back....which he didn't, called again, gt email from him, and he still did not answer the question I asked. Policy costs are large compared to others. Time for me to move !."
06 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "I have actually cancelled this policy as it was costing too much to maintain it."
06 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 7 years.
    "I probably had this policy for longer than 7 years unsure exactly of when I started a policy with them. it has changed over the years. I no longer have this policy as I felt it was too expensive and getting more expensive each year.."
06 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 3 years.
    "As far as price goes they were very competitive and yes i would recommend."
06 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "Everything was done via Insurance Watch, so I didn't have any issues when I went through the application process. I think it is a quite value when I compare this with my previous insurer (i.e. GE Money)."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "Setting up took a while - lots of back and forth."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Income Protection for 3 years.
    "I have been really happy with the sensitive and professional treatment of my recent claim on the grounds of mental health. I would highly recommend AMP to my colleagues.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had AMP Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Overall, reasonable service. Great online portal.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20% on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPhone 7