Contact us: 1800 111 456Freecall Australia
 

MLC Insurance Reviews

Reviews for this insurance company have been provided by visitors to the Insurance Watch website. view all company reviews

Go to Rate your Insurer to provide a review on your insurance company and go into the draw for an iPhone 7.

Overall rating: 3.5 Stars Average+ from 56 reviews

Value for money 3.2 Stars
Features and benefits 3.6 Stars
Ease of Application 3.4 Stars
Timeliness of processing 3.3 Stars
Customer service and communication 3.2 Stars

Claims rating: Terrible+ Stars Terrible+ from 3 reviews No reviews

Ease of lodging 3.0 Stars N/A
Processing time 1.7 Stars N/A
Helpfulness with enquiries 1.7 Stars N/A

Read reviews

12 May 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "Been insured with MLC for income protection, critical care illness, TPD etc and life since 2007. Fortunately haven't had to make a claim yet but am seriously worried if I ever have to. I've just tried to get online access so I can save time if I have to do things like update payment details etc. Apparently my insurance policies are 'too old' for me to get online access. Curious really, as their website is full of language suggesting that if I want to save time, I should get online access. I've tried! Think it's time to revisit these - I've either got a policy that's so good they want me to drop it or they're just incompetent. In 2017, I would have thought all policies should be able to be accessed online. Definitely would NOT recommend MLC to ANYONE!."
30 Apr 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I have a serous neck injury. I have had my MLC policy for over 14 years. I have been receiving the insurance payment for 5 months. I have been lied to by the claim consultants several times the most recent last Wednesday when she said it was being paid that day. I had to chase the payment as it was again overdue. They always say sorry, sorry only goes so far when you have bills including medical to pay for. I asked are you sure as I have two medical appointments one Thursday and one Friday which will mean my funds will be extremely low if this doesn't come through. Do I need to cancel the appointments ? I was told no its being paid now today. I was also told she would call me if any problems. no call....... At usual nothing arrived and by Friday I had to chase the payment AGAIN. I called my consultant as as usual she wasn't available as she was out of the office. I insisted on staying on the phone until the supervisor would talk to me. In the meantime they found my consultant who said she was out of the office but took my call anyway. She said that my file was still on her supervisors desk. I asked why did she say it was all ok ? no answer and said her supervisor would call me in 24 business hours ???? this is Friday afternoon. I hung the phone up and called MLC and wouldn't let them hang up until I had an answer. No more pretending to call me back....... I asked about the paperwork... Is all ok ? yes she told me.. the problem is that my consultant put in for two months of claims as it was late as a sign of good faith and they were not happy with that..... I said but ive put in for a month. Why can you not pay it and why have I been lied to ? they replied my consultant can explain and they will pay the month claim that day being Friday. Surprise surprise....... nothing has come through AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!! I don't think they actually understand that the people they are dealing with are not well and have reduced income and medical expenses. plus they lie to you. I'm taking this to FOS as Ive had enough..."
04 Feb 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 7 years.
    "Has been fine had no claims just keep paying more each year."
01 Jan 2017 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "The benefits increase in line with inflation however the premiums are increasing through the roof which is why I'm now searching for a better deal. The latest increase in my premiums was 15%.."
27 Nov 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "I have not made a claim so can not comment about claims process. I think there prices are ok , the customer service staff I have spoken to over the phone were ok but could improve their communication style. MLC are a big player so they need to uphold a reputation I have just signed up with them through a broker, the broker was fantastic.."
25 Nov 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "This insurer is the most dishonest and incompetent insurer out there tried for 8 years to get this mob to cancel my policy and stop payments at a cost in access of $10,000 finally put an end to this rip off and no refund every excuse in the book to why not including an investigation in which the customer is not consulted on. Records go conveniently missing even have the financial ombudsmen in their pockets do not touch this insurer."
28 Oct 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "I had recently set up a SMSF and needed to purchase life and TPD. I searched on google for a policy comparison site and that how I found Insurance Watch. The offers where all good and chose the one that best suits my needs which happened to be with MLC. The whole process was very prompt and easy. I am a 100% satisfied customer.."
26 Oct 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Good communication, easy application process Would definitely recommend to others."
04 Oct 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Very prompt and helpful assisstance from Donna. Extremely happy with the service and value.."
12 Aug 2016 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 1 year or less.
    "Very happy with MLC. We purchased a life policy which was good value for money and had everything we needed covered.."
08 Oct 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Very efficient. Smooth application process, no hassles. Would definitely use again.."
21 Sep 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "Main thing I didn't like was major hike in premium so had to cancel trauma component and decrease amount of life. Don't seem to have any loyalty to long time customers. Given new premium by phone, I paid it then received another invoice for more money."
07 Aug 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Good customer service and timely reporting of updates to cover. Value for money and good reputation.."
28 May 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Never have contact with them other than price increase letters.."
26 Mar 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Very expensive look at anyway possible to not pay a claim and take forever to let you know if a claim can be made or not."
25 Mar 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "They incorrectly confirmed I have to right policy for my SMSF, I have had to now cancel and take out new policy."
12 Feb 2015 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "They are typical of bigger businesses...once you are a customer they just take you for granted. Their service is poor...they sent me someone else's details instead of mine. They don't routinely send updates (except about how much more they will charge), nor advice about getting the best from your policy. And they couldn't find my linked Income Protection once they farmed that policy of to another part of the company. Time to move!!!."
15 Dec 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 6 years.
    "No Contact at all with them. The money just goes out every month. Would really like to review our policy.."
15 Oct 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 1 year or less.
    "Long process for direct insurance. Good price though. Would always recommend everyone shop around for the best deal.."
29 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Know that the fund I have are not as good as others."
29 May 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 8 years.
    "Good benifits. Expensive. Never hear anything from them except for the annual premium bill.."
24 Mar 2014 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Approached the insurer re reducing premiums. They referred me to a financial advisor. I feel if I call an insurance company they should be able to help me over the phone. I would not recommend them.."
16 Dec 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 4 years.
    "First month claim was good and payout strait away, but since then there has been no communication and contact via phone very unsatisfactory also now 2 months behind in payouts with no communication on why!."
06 Nov 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "I was with MLC for over 15 years and all they did was put up my premiums every year .."
21 Oct 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 5 years.
    "Not too bad, since it's our first experience. just wondering what else are out there."
04 Oct 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 10 years or more.
    "I have found MLC to be easy to communicate with and would have no hesitation using them for my future insurance needs.."
10 Sep 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 6 years.
    "No comment."
20 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Income Protection for 4 years.
    "Not very customer focused.."
18 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Not too bad."
15 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Trauma / Critical illness cover for 5 years.
    "It was done through a financial planner so don't really know what else is out there. The premium keeps going up and up and that's the only time I hear from them- once a year a premium increase letter. Nothing has changed on my end! I would recommend anyone looking for a policy shop around and do their homework before they decide.."
14 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 6 years.
    "Policy seems comprehensive, easy to read, and when you call - they answer the phone promptly!."
13 Jun 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 3 years.
    "Application process for life insurance can be arduous and time consuming. Some questions were quite hard to answer and understanding the correct, truthful answer was sometimes hard to figure out. Maybe they could supply some sort of guideline/data dictionary/FAQ's to assist with the application process. But on the whole, quite easy to deal with. Logging into the website is hard work too. Can never remember my login name/policy number. Maybe if you could change the login to something more user friendly that would be great.."
31 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 6 years.
    "For long ongoing claims, their processes are terrible only add stress to an already bad situation."
26 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 8 years.
    "Haven't had a need to correspond with them. Haven't made a claim in 7-8years I've held a policy. I only get my annual notice of premium increase.."
23 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 5 years.
    "An insurer is only as good as the claim experience. Without making a claim they remain untested.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 6 years.
    "Over all I would say I'm happy with the insurance and MLC. However there are some things that could change. One is with the policy wordings. I thought I lost my policy wording when I moved and rang them up and asked them if they could email me a copy. They told me that they don't have soft copies and it would cost money ($60 odd) to get a replacement. Whilst that's not a deal breaker I would have thought it would be pretty easy to keep soft copies of wordings to give to clients who have lost theirs. Also when I originally signed up to the insurance it was through my financial planner. I no longer have a financial planner and when I called up to make an amendment to my benifit level they told me it could only be done but an intermediary. So basically I dont' feel I have control over my own insurance and are forced to use an intermediary. These aren't big deals, but I feel they are not necessary issues that the insruer could fix.."
20 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Easy to insure, as I went through a broker who recommended it but found out later that my company/employer provides the Income Protection insurance as well but will a longer waiting period.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "Ease of application was terrible! If I'd not had my financial planner to assist, I'd never have done it. I've recently received a letter telling me they are going to be passing on stamp duty costs now too. I've nothing good to say about them other than I assume if needed, they will provide good cover.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 2 years.
    "I have not had to claim with this insurer. So my rating given is average as I have nothing to gauge against.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 5 years.
    "Insurance is insurance, it's an evil necessity. Would I recommend them to others, I'd need to make a claim first to know how good they may or may not be in settling it.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "I really like the extra benefits with the TPD - eg access to international medical experts for advice if needed. They have a good range of conditions that are covered.."
18 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 8 years.
    "Policy cost is very competitive for what i was after with no problems from start to finish so overall i would have no hesitations recommending to others.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance for 10 years or more.
    "Some personal contact would help with engagement and customer satisfaction. I am not happy with automattically increasing premiums without adequate explanation. you get the feeling that the insurer knows that it is difficult to switch with life insurance and is capitalising on this situation through 'milking' the insured person without servicing the realtionship.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Good coverage for TPD and illness. Very good assistance from specialists from around the world for advice on treatment options if necessary. Gets very expensive as you get older, as do all insurances.."
17 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 5 years.
    "They randomly increase premiums even though you have held insurance with them and impose unrealistic exclusions. Impossible to get detailed info for SMSF tax returns."
14 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 3 years.
    "Likes - Continuos updates and review. Dis likes - Too expesive. Fees are not proformance based.."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover for 1 year or less.
    "I have always found the staff at MLC to be friendly and able to answer any questions I have. At this stage I have not needed to make a claim, thankfully, though feel that I am in good hands if this is ever the case.."
08 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Rip off premiums, poor service."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Trauma / Critical illness cover, Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Application process was very quick and simple. I also like that the Trauma policy offers the 'Best Doctors' service. There are also great features in the Income Protection policy. My dislike is that I tried to get an increase on my cover for Income Protection based one the info in the PDS stating that an increase of up to 20% can occur without further medical evidence once in any three year period, however customer service informed me that I was unable to do so and had to apply for the increase. I would recommend MLC to others.."
07 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Trauma / Critical illness cover for 10 years or more.
    "Very professional with great communication.."
05 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) for 10 years or more.
    "Not impressed with customer service. Emails sent unanswered.."
04 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 1 year or less.
    "They had the best product for my needs and they did not have any questions or lengthy application. They are also affiliated with my bank allowing me to link the two.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, TPD (Total and Permanent Disability), Income Protection for 2 years.
    "The cover is good. it was easy to apply for as the adviser significantly assisted me. overall I am happy with the level of cover and servce. I would recommend to other for the ease of use.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Income Protection for 2 years.
    "No problems to date, would recommend to a friend."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Life Insurance, Income Protection for 2 years.
    "Good value for money. Would recommend to others.."
03 May 2013 Overall rating
  Claims rating
  Review by
    Had MLC Income Protection for 6 years.
    "Happy with the product, but recent quote found that OnePath provide better value and price.."

Compare quotes
and benefits from
100+ products
Save 20% on your policy

Review your insurer
for a chance to
Win an iPhone 7